Miscellany Monday – Sheepishly Stylish

“I’m a shepherd, not a sheep, and I’ve always prided myself on being a leader and not a follower.” –Dustin Diamond

shootout

After spending the weekend at Daytona International Speedway, I noticed that, on Saturday, I was as blind and stupid as a sheep.

New York Times - September 12, 1900

New York Times - September 7, 1900

Sheep blindly follow the sheep in front of them and will go off the edge of a cliff if not kept in check by a shepherd or a dog.  [Edit by HerGeek:  This happened to my grandfather!  Lost 30 sheep when they all ran over a cliff wall!  Thats when he gave up raising sheep.  (What does that have to do with anything?  Well, nothing.  Just felt like sharing.  Back to your regularly scheduled post!)] Well I was blind and stupid, in the same way.

I had many choices to avoid that escarpment, but I went over all the same by wearing the obligatory NASCAR attire—Kasey Kahne hoodie, along with a KK tank, Levis, a NASCAR cap and sneakers.

On Sunday, however, I chose to shake it up a bit and see what happened. Would I be accepted in the NASCAR community?

As we readied for Daytona 500 qualifying, I wore a a stylish pair of Joey Rainbow jeans, with a Juicy leather jacket along with stylish shoes.

Would I get a look or be ostracized from the infield?

I thought there were going to be stares and confused looks on people’s face but instead I was welcomed into the fold and not looked at twice for expressing my individuality.

The question remains…Would the response be different if I chose to dress in the NASCAR style and stood in the middle of Neiman-Marcus? 🙂

7 Responses to “Miscellany Monday – Sheepishly Stylish”

  1. Woman of the House Says:

    I am actually known for being fashion fearless. Look at the other end of the fashion spectrum from where you stand. See that tiny speck waving at you? That’s me! (During one of our bitter wind chill days recently, I wore my “Elmer Fudd duds” to work. Seriously!)

  2. thegeekwearsprada Says:

    *waving*

    Your Elmer Fudd Duds (I didn’t Google this but can only assume that this is Elmer Fudd, of cartoon fame, plastered all over your clothing a la Kasey Kahne duds LOL) and my Donna Karan are in absolutely opposite but see how nicely we can get along 😀

  3. Woman of the House Says:

    Yes, that’s the Elmer Fudd I was talking about, though he’s not plastered all over my clothing. That would be darling though! Actually, I thought I more resembled a lumberjack in my red & black buffalo plaid Woolrich ensemble, but my colleagues referred to me as Elmer Fudd throughout the day. One person even tracked me down to take a picture. Go figure.

    I’m glad we’re getting along in spite of our fashion differences!

  4. thegeekwearsprada Says:

    *singing* I’m a lumberjack, and I’m okay. I sleep all night and I work all day. *whistling*

  5. Woman of the House Says:

    LOL – I LOVE that you got that! I’ve been humming that song since I commented.

  6. thegeekwearsprada Says:

    Since writing that comment, I have had that song in my head and much to my husband’s aversion, I am singing it also.

    I am a big Monty Python fan. Remember, watch that penguin on your television. It may explode 😀

  7. Woman of the House Says:

    LMAO, then my husband is not alone!

Leave a Reply

