Fashion Friday – The Cat’s Meow!

Who, Me? Why I’m The Cat in the Hat, there’s no doubt about that.” –The Cat in the Hat (Universal Studios)

When I read the premier issue of Greatest Hits (Vertigo) by David Tischman, Gary Erskine, and Glenn Fabry, I was hooked. I have been a Beatles fan since 1970 when I bought my first album – Let It Be. (yes kids, there was something called an album back then, a large black disk with a hole in the middle that…well never mind) I love the way the comic book characters Crusader, Solicitor, Vizier, Zipper (and Golem – who leaves the Mates to be replaced by Zipper) come to life as Paul, John, George, Ringo, (and Pete Best) as superheroes and that their personas were duplicated in the characters – the cute one, the spiritual one, the contemplative one, the goofy one (and the one who leaves – Pete Best).

As I read, I wondered how they decided on the costumes of the superheroes, because frankly I was stumped about one in particular. The more I read the comic book the more I laughed at the costume of Zipper and often shook my head wondering why it struck me as so strange.

Finally, as I read the most recent book of the series, number 5 of 6, it came to me.

“That’s it!” I shouted and laughed, “I know what that costume reminds me of!” I finally could get that out of my mind but now every time I see Zipper, the mutant, Flash-esque Mate I think of Theodor Geisel and  The Cat in the Hat!

Here is my evidence:

zipper-greatest-hits-2

Zipper from Vertigo's Greatest Hits (Issue #5 - Let It Be!)

zipper-greatest-hits

Zipper as The Cat in the Hat

cat-in-the-hat

Mike Myers as The Cat in the Hat (Universal Studios)

I wonder what Glenn Fabry would say about my comparison? I am going to contact him and see what he has to say (You don’t think that I won’t? Then, you do not know me! LOL)

Now I am off to stalk NASCAR drivers (one in particular *blush*)

Leave a Reply

