Miscellany Monday – Colour Palette

Colour is my day-long obsession, joy and torment.” –Claude Monet

I am obsessed with colour as one can tell by my home and apparel. And I am obsesssed with colour and the interesting palettes the colourists choose for comic book art. Having read many comic books, I can say that I have experienced a wide variety of palettes.

If there is one thing that attracts me to a specific comic book, I would have to say that it is the artwork and the colour of said artwork. This weekend as I was flying home from my week-long conference I read volume one of Sky Doll (Marvel) by Barbara Canepa and Alessandro Barbucci. I will review this comic at a later date because there is just so much to say about it, but for now I would like you to experience the colour. Or in the case of Sky Doll; I believe I should type that as COLOUR.

The colours contained in the artwork of Sky Doll ranges from wild 60s psychedelic to muted classical Renaissance and every thing between. Peaceful and subdued, unbridled and exciting are the colours of Sky Doll.

Below is four flavours of Sky Doll along with the colour swatches representing the palette.

sky-doll-1

sky-doll-2

sky-doll-3

sky-doll-4

2 Responses to “Miscellany Monday – Colour Palette”

  1. Dang. You really put some thought into looking at your comics, don’t you? To me, it’s just colors.

    But then again, I need garanimals to get dressed.

  2. […] related posts: (automatically generated)Miscellany Monday – The Colour of Sky DollSky Doll #1 – […]

Leave a Reply

