TimeWaster Tuesday – I Ken! Ken You?

I am in Jackson Hole, Wyoming for Spring Break (no I am not drinking and cavorting, well maybe a bit) and HerGeek is busy, busy, busy at work so I am going to post something today. Hopefully it will be geeky enough and will peek your curiosity.

ken-ken

I was first introduced to KenKen (cleverness squared) while I was perusing an issue of Time magazine. Having been a huge Sudoku fan for years and being a fan of mathematics, I was attracted to this puzzle invented by Tetsuya Miyamoto, a Japanese math teacher. While Sudoku is the systematic placing of numbers in a grid, KenKen involves actual mathematics problems (addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division).

Watch the short video and see if this is something you would enjoy, then try your hand at the puzzle above (at the end of the post you will see the solution). If you want to do an easier puzzle, check out the New York Times web site for daily puzzles.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

ken-ken-solved

2 Responses to “TimeWaster Tuesday – I Ken! Ken You?”

  1. Woman of the House Says:

    No time to play now, but this is going to be a major time waster this summer!

    • thegeekwearsprada Says:

      I am a mathematics fanatic so the larger these puzzles are the better they are. They are fun and addicting, more so than Sudoku. Let me know how you like them when you try it out.

Leave a Reply

