Fashion Friday – The Gym Shoe Faux Pas

(GWP got called away on a family emergency, so Fashion Friday was left in my incapable hands.  For this, I apologize…)

Some time last year GWP and I were having a conversation about the fact that my work had recently gone casual Friday all year round (meaning, no need to wear Dockers or dress pants, we could now wear jeans all year round.)  She asked how that was going, and I told her it was really nice, not having to worry so much about matching the Dockers I was wearing with the shirt (I swear, I really need adult Garanimals).

So we had the following text conversation (which I swear is 100% true and factual, no matter how she will try and deny it.)

GWP:  So, what are you wearing today then?
Me:  Let’s see.  A pair of Levi’s 501’s and a black polo shirt.
GWP:  What color shoes are you wearing?
Me:  Um…they’re white.  I’m wearing gym shoes.
GWP:  GYM SHOES!!!  GYM SHOES!!! OMG!  OMG!!!
Me:  What?  What’s wrong with gym shoes?
GWP:  EVERYTHING!!!  EVERYTHING IS WRONG WITH GYM SHOES?  What color socks?
Me:  Um…white.  White short athletic socks

I didn’t get any text messages from her for quite a while after that.  She claims she got busy.  I know it was because she had a fashion conniption and fainted.  When we talked that afternoon, I was told, in NO uncertain terms, that what I was wearing on my feet was a travesty, and that I should never, EVER do that again.  I was also told that I needed to go out and get myself a pair of Gucci loafers (have you priced Gucci loafers?  Holy crap!  I could buy myself that Xbox 360 that I have been denying myself all these years for the price of a pair of shoes!  Insanity!)

0417897852354r_300x400

This, or an Xbox 360 Elite. And a new DSi. You make the call!

I argued that wearing white socks and gym shoes is perfectly acceptable, and that I really didn’t understand what the big deal was.  There was lots of sputtering and incoherent raging on the phone after that.  It sounded a lot like she gets when someone cuts in front of her when she’s driving.  (Only there was Italian cursing thrown in too.  She curses in Italian when she gets all upset about fashion, did you know that?)

So anyway, we compromised, which means that she got her way, and I have never worn white socks and gym shoes to work again.

That she is aware of.  🙂

One Response to “Fashion Friday – The Gym Shoe Faux Pas”

  1. thegeekwearsprada Says:

    You are not looking at the right Gucci shoes if you can only buy a 360 and DS =))

Leave a Reply

