Fashion Friday – Swine Wear

“I would tell members of my family – and I have – I wouldn’t go anywhere in confined places now.” – Vice President, Joe Biden

YORIKO YOSHIDA workbook

There has been a lot of speculation, fear, and hype about the swine flu and while I am concerned for the health of my friends and family members, I fear more the time when I may need to wear a mask to go out of the house. I work in a school and you all know what it is like with all those snotty kids and their runny noses.

I have been joking for over a week about PRADA making designer masks to become an accessory in this global warming, polluted environment. While the following pictures are not PRADA they show that people are of the same mind-set as I am. If I am going to wear a mask, I at least want it to reflect my ascetic value.

Guanabee.com

Guanabee.com

Guanabee.com

For the past seven days, in the health and beauty section of Amazon.com disposable masks (oh so ugly) have been best sellers and I don’t believe that that trend will change until the threat has subsided.

2009-04-24-125513

Nuvo Accessories is an online retailer that makes bandana styled maske, some with animal prints and according to FoxNews, Jay Ginsberg the sales manager of of Nuvo said that is able to ship approximately 2,500 masks sold in the past 5 days. Ginesberg also said that orders for fashion masks on the Flu Fashion web site started coming in as soon as the site was launched.

One radio station, morning show in Chicago (WGN) is even having fun with the fashionable flu masks by having a fashion show. Contestants will be bringing flu masks to the station where they will be judged by a panel and the grand prize winner will get, ironically enough, a trip to mexico. I would hold off taking that prize until this whole thing blows over.

Let us know if you have changed your lifestyle at all because of this pandemic.

For the past seven days, in the health and beauty section of Amazon.com disposable masks (oh so ugly) have been best sellers and I don’t believe that that trend will change until the threat has subsided.

2009-04-24-125513

Leave a Reply

